Division of Water

Department of Public Utilities

Division of Water

The City of Cleveland Division of Water (Cleveland Water) provides drinking water service to 1.4 million residential, commercial, and industrial customers in 80 communities across six counties in Greater Cleveland. We are the largest supplier of drinking water in the State of Ohio and the tenth-largest municipal water service in the United States. 

Founded in 1856, our top priority has always been the health and safety of our customers who depend on us to deliver quality water each and every day. Our mission is to provide customers with a reliable supply of safe drinking water and great customer service at an affordable price. We do this while embracing principles of environmental stewardship, openness, equity, and accountability. We take our role as a public service entity that provides essential services to our community seriously.

Cleveland Water provides direct, or retail, water service to 70 cities, townships, and villages; wholesale water service to 7 cities; and emergency backup water service to 3 communities.

These communities are divided into 4 zones based on elevation relative to Lake Erie. These zones determine water rates for our customers.

We own and operate extensive infrastructure to safely treat water from Lake Erie and reliably deliver it to our customers, including 4 water treatment plants each with its own water intake, 5 major pump stations, 12 secondary pump stations, 21 water tanks and towers, and 5,300 miles of water mains.