

GENERAL POLICE ORDER CLEVELAND DIVISION OF POLICE



EFFECTIVE DATE:	REVISED DATE:		NO. PAGES:	NUMBER:		
MARCH 1, 2002			1 of 3	6.1.04		
SUBJECT:						
LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY DUTIES / CRIME VICTIM COMPENSATION						
ASSOCIATED MANUALS:		RELATED ORDERS:				
CHIEF OF POLICE:						
Edward F. Lohn, Chief						

- **PURPOSE:** To inform members of the Cleveland Division of Police of the Victims of Crime Compensation Act.
- **POLICY:** Division members, injured on or off duty, may be eligible for certain out-of-pocket expenses caused by a physical injury, emotion injury or death that results from violent criminal acts.

PROCEDURES:

- **I.** Eligibility of police personnel and/or their dependents:
 - A. An off-duty officer injured by a criminal act and forced to use sick leave may be compensated for the sick leave used.
 - B. An off-duty officer injured by a criminal act in the performance of official duties may be compensated for lost income if the officer's injuries result in an inability to work secondary employment, overtime, or special off-duty assignments.
 - C. Dependents of an officer killed in action, on or off-duty, may be compensated for anticipated future economic loss and for a portion of funeral and burial expenses.
 - D. Medical expenses not covered by health insurance or worker's compensation may be compensated. These expenses may include the insurance deductible, documented mileage to and from medical facilities, follow up visits to a doctor for physical and psychological care, bandages, medication or other medical supplies, and prescriptions.
 - E. Counseling for a victim's family member, up to \$2,500.00 each, may be covered.

- F. Funeral expenses up to \$5,000.00 each instance may be covered.
- Income and services to dependents may be covered due to the victim's death. G.
- Automobile accidents are covered if an officer is injured during pursuit of a H. suspect, who has committed a felony or if an officer is intentionally run down.
- II. Not covered:

PAGE:

- A. Property loss and accidental injuries, (i.e., falling downstairs or tripping while investigating a suspicious situation).
- Traffic accidents even if the offending driver was intoxicated. B.
- C. Stolen, damaged, or lost property, or pain and suffering.
- D. Costs payable by other sources.
- III. To file an eligibility claim:
 - Compensation may not exceed \$50,000.00 and The Ohio Court of Claims A. shall determine compensation on applications. If there is disagreement with the Court's decision, there is an appeal process.
 - B. Filing shall occur within one year of injury or death, or within two years for incidents with extenuating circumstances.
 - A claim is filed with the Court of Claims in Columbus, or filed with the C. Cuyahoga County Clerk of Courts.
 - To request information or assistance contact: D.
 - Crime Victims Compensation 1. Cleveland Office of Ohio Attorney General 65 East State Street, 8th floor Columbus, Ohio 43215 (614) 466-5610

PAGE:	SUBJECT:	GPO NUMBER:
3 of 3	LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY DUTIES/CRIME VICTIM	6.1.04
	COMPENSATION	

- 2. The Ohio Victim's Hotline and Specific Case Information toll free number is 1-800-582-2877; or 1-877-584-2846 or 1-877-5VICTIM or at www.ag.state.oh.us.
- **IV.** Informational brochures shall be distributed to each bureau and district through the Mail Center. Additional copies are available at the Supply Unit. Applications may be obtained from the Medical Unit or the Victim/Witness Office.

EFL/TAH/LM/aaf Policy & Procedures Unit