John D. Cimperman Recognized

Mayor Frank G. Jackson gave special remarks and presented a proclamation to John D. Cimperman in recognition of Mr. Cimperman and the 45th Anniversary of The Cleveland Landmark Commission contributions to historic preservation in the City of Cleveland. In the last 45 years, Mr. Cimperman has spent a tremendous amount of time, commitment and dedication in preserving Cleveland’s history, art and architecture with the Landmark Commission. Attendees at this momentous occasion held in the Mayor’s Red Room also included Mr. Cimperman’s family members and friends along with City of Cleveland members of the Landmark Commission.

Mr. Cimperman, former Cleveland City Councilman, saw historic preservation as a means to invigorate Cleveland’s economy and protect its unique history. In 1971, he wrote the Landmarks Ordinance, the first in Ohio, and placed legislation before City Council. It passed despite the era of demolition and urban renewal when the predominant attitude was to tear everything down and build new.

Cleveland City Hall, located at 601 Lakeside Avenue, opened on July 4, 1916; in 1972, it was the first building dedicated as a Landmark by the Commission. It is fitting to recognize the 45th Anniversary of the Cleveland Landmark Commission and its founder in coordination with Cleveland City Hall’s centennial year.

John D. Cimperman and Cleveland Landmark Commission Proclamation

Photographer: 
William C. Rieter